Three steps to gaining power over your mind


Today, I want to share this quote with you and discuss what it means to me.

You have power over your mind – not outside events. Realize this, and you will find strength.
Marcus Aurelius

One of the things my coach taught me to do was to control my thoughts. Looking back that was one of the greatest tips I have ever been given. When you control your thoughts, you control your actions, your growth and your ability to the challenges that life throws at you.

So, how can you control your mind?

  1. Meditate. Meditation allows for you to calm your mind. While you meditate, don’t try to control your mind. Just let the memories or thoughts flow. Accept them without judgment. Focus on breathing (this is best for me, for you it might be the movement of your chest as you breathe or the feeling the air makes in your nose as you breathe) and just try to clear your mind. Again, don’t worry if you mind wanders (it will) quite a bit. As you meditate more, you will notice your mind slowing down. It is at this point that you have power over your mind.
  2. Feed your mind positive input. I had a whole post on this. Positive input provides positive thoughts.
  3. Control your internal dialog. We all have a dialog going in our head about our self. Make that dialog positive. One trick I used to control my internal dialog was to wear a rubber band on my wrist to pop every time I had a negative thought. I broke a few rubber bands to break that habit, but now my thoughts are positive.

When you have power over your mind, you become powerful yourself. You are better able to face any challenge you are given.

Gain that strength, starting today.

Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

