Are you successful?


We all have a different ideal of success. For some it is comparing themselves to others. For some it money. Others it is a title. Others it by what type of car they drive or their address. Still others judge success by how many friends they have.

I believe all those ideals of success are wrong.

To me success is using our talents to our fullest. This quote illustrates my thoughts.

Success is not measured by what you do compared to what others do. It is measured by what you do with the ability God gave you.
Zig Ziglar

Personally, I seem to have been given two talents. The first understanding technology. I have been blessed to be in the Information Technology field for 15 years. Because I continue to learn and hone my ability, I have been able to have a long career in this field. Yes, right now I am between IT jobs, but that is because the company I worked for closed its’ doors. As that door closed, I know that another door will open. I just have to continue to strive to find that open door to go through.

My second talent is this blog and coaching others. This is the one that I enjoy the most. Each success of my clients or email from total strangers that let me know either a blog post, newsletter or quote that I post has touched them and made them look at something differently makes my day.

In fact, in my last two positions I have had, I was able to combine both of my talents to help other employees better use the systems we had in had place.

Back to the quote for a moment. How are judging your success? Are you still competing against others? Or are you using one of the more common ideals of success that I mentioned?

If you are, maybe you should take another look at what you call success. Step back and think about for a moment. Then ask yourself “Are you using your abilities that God gave you?”

Leave me a comment and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

