Fly or go bad?


I thought I would share my thoughts on one of my favorite quotes today.

It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for it to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad.

C. S. Lewis

There is not one person that couldn’t change something about themselves for the better, me included. I get up each morning and try to see what I can change to be a better person. Right now, I am working on being more compassionate and healing myself.

What is the one thing (or things) that are weighing on you? Here are some common things that I encounter in my conversations with people that I talk to in regards to personal change.

  • Spending more quality with family.
  • Feeling at peace with themselves.
  • Financial stability.
  • Finding a new job.
  • Making ends meet in today’s rough financial climate.

This is just the top five, in no particular order.

Lets look back at the quote for a second.

Whatever we are struggling with at this moment, we are like the egg trying to turn into the bird. Without struggling the bird will never emerge. Without changing something in your life, you will get to where you want to be.

But the second part of the quote is the most powerful for me. We either hatch (change) or go bad.

Think about that for a second.

Think about your life right now.

What this quote is saying, at least to me, is that if you don’t hatch (change) your life won’t just stay the same. Guess what? It will get worse. Your life will turn bad.

That should be a wake call for anyone that is struggling with something in their lives. Your life won’t stay the same. It will get worse if you don’t do something or it can be life you want if you are willing to change.

Do you want to fly or do you want to go bad?

The choice is yours.

Leave a Reply

