Be Right or Be Happy


As someone who, in the past, had to be right, this was a hard lesson for me to learn. Sometimes, I have to work hard to remember this lesson.

Let me tell my story about how I came to learn and (mostly) embrace this philosophy. I was depressed and going through a really rough time in life. I was in counseling for myself and marriage counseling as well. Mom and dad were sick, little did I know they were in the twilight of their life. I was so hurt and depressed that I felt a need to be right in all my relationships, personal and business.

This was destroying my life and family.

During a counseling session, I was sharing a situation that had happened where I had exploded in anger. My counselor’s response took me by surprise by its’ simplicity. He said “You can be right or you can be happy. It is your choice, Donald.”

Two options, my choice. I could be right and impose my will on everyone, or I could be happy.

Is happiness that easy? For me, yes.

When I gave up the need to be right, I found I could have empathy. With empathy, I could have the understanding of others’ perspective. It led me to be able to accept instead of expect.

So, what is holding you back from happiness? Do you have to be right? Try giving up your need to be right and see how you feel.

Leave a comment and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

