Gotta Be Me


I was listening to music again and ran across the song “I Gotta Be Me” sung by Sammy Davis, Jr. You can listen to it by clicking play below.

Like Sammy sings, I gotta be me. I can’t change who I am, shouldn’t try. I shouldn’t waste time trying to change the past, excusing who I am.

Perfect I will never be. But I gotta keep being me. I need to stay true to who I am; I can’t live for anyone else.

I may have to travel my journey alone. But I gotta keep being me. If someone loves me, they will love me, not who they want me to be. I won’t change (and shouldn’t be asked to) to be loved, I gotta be me.

I might not find my place in this world. But I will still be me.

Always just me. Love me, hate me, I will still be me.

So who is me?

I am someone who has been deeply hurt, but can still love.

I am someone who has been lied to over and over, but can still trust.

I am someone who has made mistakes, but strive to do my best each day.

I am someone who has done others wrong, but strive to not make those mistakes again.

I am someone who needs forgiven and have forgiven others.

I am someone who has been down and out, but still have dreams that I work for each day.

I am someone who used to appreciate nothing, but now see blessings and beauty all around me.

That’s enough about me, so who are you?

Leave a Reply

