I’m Too Busy


I have written a few articles about time and how we use our time. I even have tools to maximize the use of your time. Why so much focus on our time use? Because, as I said in a previous post, time is truly our most valuable commodity.

So, why the title of “I’m Too Busy” for this post? Because, most people use that phrase more than they realize.

Think about it. How many times a day do you say (or think) “I’m too busy for ___________”? Why are you too busy for _____________? What is more important than whatever you are too busy for? Do you realize that you make a choice (conscious or not) about how you use your time.

When you are too busy for something, what goes undone? Little stuff that doesn’t matter, like Facebook, watching television, surfing or things that matter like work, bills time, chore time, family time, self improvement time? I bet it is the things that matter. Why do I think this? Because as a coach, I see this everyday. Heck, I have even been there. It is easier to ignore what takes effort and do what doesn’t. It takes effort to do bills and none to stare at Facebook. It takes effort to engage with family but doesn’t take effort to watch TV. I could go on and on, but you get the idea.

So, my assignment for you this week is to count how many times you say (or think) “I am too busy”. Leave a comment with your total and what you found out after doing this for a few days. I think you will be surprised.

Leave a Reply

